A Brief History

The Faculty of Language, Arts, and Culture (FBSB) started with B-1 courses, such as Indonesian Language, English, and Javanese Language Courses, which were under the authority of the PPK Teaching Bureau, which eventually changed to FKIP Part A Gadjah Mada University (UGM). FKIP Part A UGM changed to IKIP Yogyakarta. One of the faculties is the Arts Literature Teaching Faculty (FKSS). In 1981, FKSS changed to the Faculty of Language and Arts Education (FPBS) IKIP Yogyakarta by restructuring faculties and institutes. In October 2022, UNY had changed its status from a Public Service Agency (BLU) to a State University - Legal Entity (PTN-BH). This again changed the names of the faculties at UNY so that the Faculty of Languages and Arts changed its name to the Faculty of Languages, Arts and Culture (FBSB) until now.

Judging from these developments, the history of FBS can be divided into five periods; The first period is the UGM FKIP part A period, The second period is the FKSS period (1963-1981), The third period is the FPBS period (1981-1996), The fourth period is the FBS period (1996-2022), and the fifth period is the FBSB period (2022-Present).

Throughout its history, FBS UNY has been led by 13 deans. They are:

1.  Ny. M. Moelono, M.A. (Dean of FKSS 1965-1967 and 1967-1969);

2. Drs. Moh. Haroen Wiyono (Dean of FKSS 1970-1972 and 1979-1982);

3. Drs. Noer Toegiman (Dean of FKSS 1972-1974);

4. Drs. Sarwadi (Dean of FKSS 1974-1976 and 1976-1979);

5. Drs. MJU Soekardi (Dean of FKSS 1982-1985);

6. Drs. Sarjana Hadiatmaja (Dean of FPBS 1985-1988 and 1988-1992);

7. Prof. Drs. Soeparno.  (Dean of FPBS 1992-1995 and 1996-1999);

8. Prof. Dr. Suminto A. Sayuti (Dean of FBS 1999-2003 and 2003-2007);

9. Prof. Dr. Zamzani (Dean of FBS 2007-2011 and 2011-2015);

10. Widyastuti Purbani, Dr. MA. (Dean of FBS 2015 - 2017);

11. Prof. Dr. Dra. Endang Nurhayati, M.Hum. (Dean of FBS 2017 - 2019).

12. Prof. Dr. Sri Harti Widyastuti, M.Hum. (Dean of FBS/FBSB 2019 - 2023)

13. Prof. Nur Hidayanto Pancoro Setyo Putro, S.Pd., M.Pd., M.Pd. (Dean of FBSB 2023 - Present)

 Before occupying the current area in the west corner of UNY, Kampus Ungu (FBSB) had used two different lecture areas. In 1950-1974, lecture activities took place at the Sayidan campus (currently SMU Negeri 12 Yogyakarta, which was previously named SPG Negeri 3 Yogyakarta. Formerly, it was known as SPG Laboratori IKIP Yogyakarta). Then, in 1975 (until now), the Sayidan Campus moved to the Karangmalang integrated campus. Precisely, in the eastern part of the FBS complex located west of the dean's building of the Faculty of Social Sciences and Economics (FISE).